Log In to The Paramus Post - Greater Paramus News and Lifestyle Webzine

Please enter your user name and password below.

No Account Yet? Sign Up!

The Paramus Post - Greater Paramus News and Lifestyle Webzine
Thursday, September 21 2017 @ 12:03 PM EDT
The Paramus Post - Greater Paramus News and Lifestyle Webzine
Thursday, September 21 2017 @ 12:03 PM EDT
The Paramus Post - Greater Paramus News and Lifestyle Webzine

Waiting For Blade Runner Sequel? Check Out Tears In Rain


I don't know if you've heard Ridley Scott's recent updates about his sequel to Blade Runner: "I'm going through Blade Runner now," Scott says, likening the process to his work on Prometheus. "You start off with a blank sheet and you start to evolve. Sometimes you walk into this wilderness of mirrors that don't make any sense at all. Then, suddenly, two and two do make four and you think, 'Oh, that's good,' and you put that up there. It's a series of paving stones." source: Comingsoon.com) but it looks like the movie really is in the works!

What can eager fans do with themselves while they wait in suspense to find out if Harrison Ford will return as an older and wiser Nexus-6? Rosa Montero, a Spanish journalist and author, has given us the answer with her latest book, Tears in Rain (Nov 27.) Inspired by the famous soliloquy delivered by Rutger Hauer upon his character's death, Tears in Rain features a fierce replicant heroine who will stop at nothing to fight for her life. This heart-stopping science fiction thriller is perfect for fans of Blade Runner but it also stands alone as a beautiful and chilling story about identity, memory and loss.
"Phillip K. Dick's Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep and Ridley Scott's Blade Runner film form part of the substrate of my novel. I read the book twenty years ago but the story in Tears in Rain is all its own. I explore the issues regarding replicants and artificial intelligence, both of which are luminous concepts." - author Rosa Montero
Praise for Tears in Rain:
"[An] incredibly rich and detailed world ... This innovative novel ... places a mirror in front of the ideas of Phillip K. Dick and Ridley Scott - it develops new ideas and questions about identity and memory, and it also explores further the ways in which the reps are discriminated against." - Ars Technica
"... fans of Ridley Scott's film (and the Phillip K. Dick story on which it is based), should definitely enjoy this well-plotted, imaginative tale." - Booklist
Also, there is a fascinating second life exhibition planned in part to focus on Tears in Rain. Please see here for more information on this exciting project: http://nokeyuitza.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/tears-in-rain-the-project/

Share It!

Comments are closed
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Trinity Presbyterian Church
Join the purpose driven church exercising faith, hope, and love because nothing else matters...
www.TrinityFamily.org
Spivak Lighting
Lamp Repairs, Chandeliers, Track Lighting, Outdoor Lamps, Recess Lighting, Paddle Fans, Consultation
www.spivaklighting.com
StoneMicro Web Technologies
Dynamic Website Development, Content Management System, Blogs, Web design, Web hosting services
www.StoneMicro.com
Sponsor ParamusPost