Fairway Market Paramus
The Paramus Post - Greater Paramus News and Lifestyle Webzine
Saturday, April 19, 2014, 05:30 AM EDT
Bergen Community College - Register Now

NJ Senator Kevin O’Toole & Others Visit Valley Hospital to Celebrate Hospital’s 3rd Consecutive Magnet Nursing Care Designat

Local and state officials joined employees, trustees and doctors from The Valley Hospital at a special celebration on Monday, November 25, at the hospital, to celebrate Valley’s third consecutive Magnet designation. The Magnet program recognizes health care organizations that demonstrate excellence in nursing care. Magnet designations are conferred by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC).

Speaking at the celebration, New Jersey Senator Kevin O’Toole commented on his own personal experience with Valley when his father was treated at the hospital. “When you enter Valley, you know you’re in a different kind of hospital,” he said. “You feel welcome immediately, and the quality of care is palpable.” Senator O’Toole continued, “On behalf of the Governor and the State Legislature, I congratulate you on your third consecutive Magnet designation and I thank you for what you do every day.”

Magnet designation is considered the highest honor an organization can receive for professional nursing practice.

“Receiving Magnet designation for a third time is a remarkable accomplishment that recognizes the inspiring work our nurses do every day,” said Ann Marie Leichman, Vice President, Patient Care Services, and Chief Nursing Officer. “It is a reflection of the commitment our entire staff has made in providing the very best care to those who entrust their well-being to us. Magnet designation not only symbolizes excellence in nursing practice but it acknowledges the importance of a strong interdisciplinary team in creating a safe, patient-centered, healing environment.”

Hospitals that apply for Magnet designation must meet rigorous standards to prove that they have demonstrated various elements deemed essential to delivering superior patient care. These include the quality of nursing leadership and coordination and collaboration across specialties, as well as processes for measuring and improving the quality and delivery of care.

Photo Caption:
Displaying the award commemorating Valley’s third consecutive Magnet designation are Audrey Meyers, President and CEO of The Valley Hospital and Valley Health System (fourth from right), and Ann Marie Leichman, Vice President, Patient Care Services, and Chief Nursing Officer (fifth from left). Also shown are (standing, left to right): Albert Pucciarelli, Deputy Mayor of Village of Ridgewood; Warren Cooke, Esq., Trustee, The Valley Hospital; Joseph Marion, Chairman, The Valley Hospital Board of Trustees; Linda Lewis, Director, Magnet Recognition Program, ANCC; New Jersey Senator Kevin O’Toole; Paul Aronsohn, Mayor, Village of Ridgewood; and Karen Drenkard, Executive Director of the ANCC.

Seated, left to right, are: Beverly Karas-Irwin, RN, Director of Professional Practice and Research, The Valley Hospital; Diane Sobel, RN, a Valley Magnet Ambassador; Debra Taylor, Trustee, The Valley Hospital; Gwenn Hauck, Councilwoman, Village of Ridgewood; and Robert Pettet, District Director for United States Representative Scott Garrett.

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor Ads

Top 10 Stories in 30 Days

Top 10 Stories in the last 30 Days

Text Sponsor Ads

Trinity Presbyterian Church
Join the purpose driven church exercising faith, hope, and love because nothing else matters...
Spivak Lighting
Lamp Repairs, Chandeliers, Track Lighting, Outdoor Lamps, Recess Lighting, Paddle Fans, Consultation
StoneMicro Web Technologies
Dynamic Website Development, Content Management System, Blogs, Web design, Web hosting services
Sponsor ParamusPost