TRENTON, N.J. – The New Jersey Division of Elections wishes to remind citizens of the upcoming deadline to register to vote for the upcoming primary election ahead of the June 5 primary election.
The deadline to register to vote in the June 5 primary election is Tuesday, May 15, 2018. Applications are available at county and municipal offices as well as online at the Division of Elections website: nj.gov/state/elections.
The voter registration applications downloaded from the website must be mailed to the County Commissioner of Registration/Superintendent of Elections in the resident’s home county or to the Division of Elections, as an original signature is required. Applications submitted by mail must be postmarked by May 15.
To register to vote in New Jersey you must be: a United States citizen, at least 17 years old, and understand that you may not vote until reaching the age of 18, a resident of the county for 30 days before the election and you are not currently serving a sentence, probation or parole because of a felony conviction.New Jersey’s primary election law allows unaffiliated voters to select a party when voting in the Primary Election. However, voters registered as Democrats can only vote in the Democratic primary and voters registered as Republicans can only vote in the Republican primary.